Bitter pill

I just laughed and rolled my eyes when I saw Ramsey residents ‘tired’ of long queues at Lloyds pharmacies – Manx Radio on the Manx Radio website last week. It is complete garbage, and my only sympathy is for the pharmacy staff who deal with these numpties. I just marvel at their patience.

Most of the complainants are old whingers and middle-aged lead-swingers who simply do not need to be there. They have contributed little or nothing to society during their working lives – if they even worked. The nearest they get to work is begging a sick note off the doctor or filling in benefit forms.

By comparison the young staff (few are over the age of 30) fund their un-necessary medication and will not have the same luxuries when they retire because of the Ponzi nature of national insurance.

True, I also dislike being in NHS queues, such as hospitals, doctors’ surgeries or pharmacies. But not because of any fear of what doctors might tell me, and not because I’m averse to queueing.

I just hate being surrounded by people too irresponsible or stupid to take better care of their health. What I despise about them even more is the lack of gratitude for the way that their vacuity is serviced and paid for by the younger and far more responsible staff they keep abusing or whingeing about.

Yes, there are NHS problems, but they are staff related, not monetary. The root of the problem is too few people prepared to take responsibility for other people’s lives, and more particularly their own.

How do you fix that? Well, it would take a massive cultural change, which I probably will not see in my lifetime. Actually, I know I won’t because, on principle, I am making no attempt to stay alive longer than a decade once I retire. I simply don’t think my generation earned the public expenditure.

But here’s an idea to get it rolling. Cut all government funding to public health groups, such as anti-smoking, anti-alcohol, anti-obesity advocacy groups which operate ‘independently from’ (i.e. as puppets of) the civil service. At the very least make them fully open to public scrutiny and introduce professional annual audits to be conducted by genuinely independent experts, not their co-parasites. This would be a small step towards acknowledging that people’s health is their own concern and that they should be free to make choices about it, but also required to take responsibility for it instead of clogging up a GP waiting room every week.

I know, not going to happen. But until it starts to excuse me if I laugh every time I hear another sob story about long pharmacy queues or overcrowded, malfunctioning hospitals.

Leave a comment